Welcome to the Samwise Gamgee Appreciation Club

Hello, fellow Homo Sapiens.

My name is Elijah, and this morning I woke up and was like, “I’d like to create a blog.” So here we are. This blog will be about all manner of things.

Basically, I write about stuff I want to write about.

I’ll review movies and music and books, talk about my own creative endeavors, talk about God and talk about the man himself, Samwise Gamgee.

For this introductory post, I’ll briefly discuss my favourite novel, my favourite film, my favourite composer, my W.I.P. novel that I am working on currently, and my favourite book in the Bible.

My Favourite Novel

The probability that you’ve read the name of this blog is pretty high if you’re reading this, so you’ve likely already guessed what my favourite novel is.

Of course it’s the Lord of the Rings. What can I say?

Great characters (Sam!).

Great plot.

Great themes.

It’s the perfect tale perfectly told if you ask me. The worldbuilding alone cements it as one of the greats of the fantasy genre.

And in my opinion, it stacks up against the greats of more “serious” genres. While it’s prose makes it hard to get into, if you can brave that, I absolutely recommend it. Ultimately, I think the hard to read style serves the story, it gives it a mythic tone.

10/10. Would recommend.

My Favourite Film

My favourite movie is Jurassic Park.

DINOSAURS!

My Dad showed me this film when I was rather young (much to my mother’s chagrin) and I’ve loved it ever since.

The wonder, the horror. This movie is a masterclass in popcorn cinema.

There are better movies, but I love this movie more than those movies.

The film has it’s flaws, but who cares, it’s awesome.

Steven Spielberg makes another childhood classic, I don’t know how the guy does it, but I’m sure glad he does.

9/10.

My Favourite Composer

Every film John Williams touches is better because of him.

His expertly crafted leitmotifs.

His delightful and brilliant orchestrations.

John Williams makes me feel warm things in my stomach with all of his music. It’s not a coincidence that he wrote the score for my favourite movie.

Some fantastic lesser known film scores that he’s done are Munich, Hook, the Poseidon Adventures, and Star Wars (not many have heard of this amazing indie blockbuster).

Hand Williams some manuscript paper, and he’ll make you cry.

My Work in Progress

I’m not satisfied with my current title for this novel, tentatively named, “Run”.

Shivers in disgust.

This book was born out of a desire to write a story about normal people in a fantasy setting.

It follows Myriane, a refugee trying to protect her children in the midst of an invasion. It’s set in a Asian/Middle-Eastern/African inspired country, split into six tribes/states/provinces neighboring an aggressive empire, and an indifferent superpower.

After the death of her husband in the war, Myriane completely emotionally withdraws from her children and will protect them at all costs.

It’s still in the early planning stages, but I’m happy with the ideas behind it.

My Favourite Book of the Bible

I love James. It’s a fantastic book which really speaks to me about what it means to be a Christian.

It challenges me to better myself and to be more faithful, but it also encourages me. The iconic verse from James is, paraphrased, “faith without works is dead”.

It also inspired the song, “Screen Door” by Rich Mullins which is a fantastic song.

The book discusses living in Christ it’s mortal consequences, but also it’s divine and eternal benefits.

It has an emphasis on action that is really encouraging to me.

fin.

I hope you enjoyed this inaugural post of “the Samwise Gamgee Appreciation Club”.

Guten Tag.

— Elijah

Published by samwisegamgeeappreciationclub

I like movies, books, music, Samwise Gamgee, and God. I write about random stuff.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to the Samwise Gamgee Appreciation Club

  1. hi elijah this is a great start i was woundering if you could review pride and predujice next time thank i will look at the blog for updates

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started